Participants announced for the 2016 North Idaho Regional Spelling Bee

A total of 48 fourth- through eighth-graders from the five northern counties of Idaho will participate in the 12th annual North Idaho Regional Spelling Bee Saturday, March 19, at North Idaho College, the winner of which will receive an all-expense paid trip to Washington, D.C. to participate in the Scripps National Spelling Bee the end of May.

Each contestant was the winner of his or her respective grade level in district qualifying bees held in public school districts as well as a home school and private school district throughout North Idaho.

“A total of 48 schools are involved in this year’s spelling bee from 11 districts across North Idaho, including home school associations and private schools,” said North Idaho Regional Spelling Bee Coordinator Mindy Patterson. “Congratulations to those who qualified for the regional bee this year—it’s an amazing accomplishment.”

The spellers will compete against each other, regardless of grade level, beginning at 9 a.m. in Boswell Hall Schuler Performing Arts Center on NIC’s main campus. Registration for participants will begin at 8:30 a.m.

The event is sponsored by Hagadone Newspapers and hosted by NIC.

Information: (208) 769-3316


Boundary County School District #101 participants:

Damon Madson, Fourth grade, Valley View Elementary

Morgan Moon, Fifth grade, Valley View Elementary

Tyler Stockdale, Sixth grade, Boundary Co. Middle School

Regina Chaphan, Seventh grade, Boundary Co. Middle School

Adrianne Brown, Eighth grade, Boundary Co. Middle School


Chart School District participants:

Andrew Mangini, Sixth grade, CdA Charter Academy

Maria Aguiar, Seventh grade, CdA Charter Academy

Lorelei Provolt, Eighth grade, CdA Charter Academy


Coeur d’Alene School District #271 participants:

Henry Depew, Fourth grade, Sorensen Magnet School

Riley Peite, Fifth grade, Skyway Elementary

Brooke Strong, Sixth grade,        Canfield Middle School

Hayden Levy, Seventh grade, Canfield Middle School

Hayley Patin, Eighth grade, Canfield Middle School


Home School District participants:

Caroline Gallus, Fourth grade, NIHEA Home Schooler

Abby McEwan, Fifth grade, INCH Home Schooler

Corban Mechikoff, Sixth grade, INCH Home Schooler

Josiah Pinkerton, Seventh grade, NIHEA Home Schooler

Erika Gallus, Eighth grade, NIHEA Home Schooler


Kellogg School District #391 participants:

Zoe Brooks, Fourth grade, Pinehurst Elementary

Evelyn Holt, Fifth grade, Pinehurst Elementary

Jeremiah Carlson, Sixth grade, Kellogg Middle School

Christian Carlson, Seventh grade, Kellogg Middle School

Bethany Galford, Eighth grade, Kellogg Middle School


Kootenai School District #274 participants:

Addison Cory, Fourth grade, Harrison Elementary

Jade Harlow, Fifth grade, Harrison Elementary

Griffin Hysell, Sixth grade, Kootenai Jr/Sr High School

Libby Vawter, Seventh grade, Kootenai Jr/Sr High School

Garrett Renner, Eighth grade, Kootenai Jr/Sr High School


Lake Pend Oreille School District #84 participants:

Threnody Hammond, Fourth grade, Farmin-Stidwell Elementary

Urielle Abad, Fifth grade, Northside Elementary

Erin Eddy, Sixth grade, Washington Elementary

Trystan Helms, Seventh grade, Sandpoint Middle School

Ilijah Karasek, Eighth grade        Sandpoint Middle School


Lakeland School District #272 participants:

Trevor Davis, Fourth grade, Garwood Elementary

Dalten Rhoads, Fifth grade, Athol Elementary

Alexa McCarty, Sixth grade, Twin Lakes Elementary

Calvin Schenkenberger, Seventh grade, Lakeland Jr. High

Tony Brown, Eighth grade, Lakeland Jr. High


Private School District participants:

Porsche Gerdes, Fourth grade, LAM Christian Academy

Grant Lupien, Fifth grade, LAM Christian Academy

Grace Youk, Sixth grade, House of the Lord Christian Academy

Kaylianna Wilson, Seventh grade, Christian Center School

Emma James, Eighth grade,    Christian Center School


Wallace School District #393 participants:

Curtis Anderson, Fourth grade, Silver Hills Elementary

Payton Stuart, Fifth grade, Silver Hills Elementary

Jaden House, Sixth grade, Silver Hills Elementary

Kylah Ward, Seventh grade, Wallace Jr/Sr High School

Gary Gunderson, Eighth grade, Wallace Jr/S. High School

Posted: Tuesday, March 1, 2016

Email ArticleEmail


Go To Our Facebook Page Go To Our Cecil Cardinal Facebook Page Go To Our Twitter Page Go To Our Instagram Page Go To Our You Tube Videos Page Go To Our Flickr Photos Page

NIC Communications Contacts

Please direct all media inquiries to:

Tom Greene
Communications Coordinator
(208) 665-2759 or
Public Information Request Form

Laura Rumpler
Chief Communications and
Government Relations Officer
(208) 769-3316 or

News Search