2016 award winners announced at NIC athletics banquet

The winners of this year’s North Idaho College athletics awards were announced during the annual NIC Athletics Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Banquet held in May.

Nominations for scholar athlete and athlete of the year are selected from each team and winners are chosen by the NIC athletics department administration and coaches. Recognition is also given to Faculty and Staff Member of the Year and Booster Club Members of the Year.

Scholar Athlete of the Year:
Women: Maci Benedict - Women’s basketball- 4.0 GPA Major: Pre-Medicine (Dental Hygiene)
Men: Tony Quesnell - Men’s Soccer 3.9 GPA- Major: Political Science/ International Relations

Athlete of the Year:
Women: Nicole Miller - Golf- NWAC Female Golfer of the Year
Men: co-winner: Braian Angola-Rodas- Basketball - NJCAA 1st Team All American
Men: co-winner: Dajour Reece - Wrestling- NJCAA 1st Team All-American

Team of the Year:
Men’s Basketball - Undefeated Regular Season (30-0) and NJCAA Sweet Sixteen

Booster Club Member of the Year:
Dick and Sandy Powell
Northwest Specialty Hospital

Floyd Rosenlund Award- Staff Member of the Year:
Lynn Hill - Marketing and Communications Department - Administrative Assistant

Warren “Squirt” Keating Faculty Member of the Year:
Audry Bourne - Communications Instructor and Assistant Division Chair 

Ace Walden Award Winners- Team GPA of 3.0 or better:
Women’s Basketball- 3.47
Women’s Soccer- 3.23
Softball- 3.09

Posted: Tuesday, May 24, 2016

Email ArticleEmail


Go To Our Facebook Page Go To Our Cecil Cardinal Facebook Page Go To Our Twitter Page Go To Our Instagram Page Go To Our You Tube Videos Page Go To Our Flickr Photos Page

NIC Communications Contacts

Please direct all media inquiries to:

Tom Greene
Communications Coordinator
(208) 665-2759 or tom.greene@nic.edu
Public Information Request Form

Laura Rumpler
Chief Communications and
Government Relations Officer
(208) 769-3316 or laura.rumpler@nic.edu

News Search