Participants announced for the 2017 North Idaho Regional Spelling Bee

A total of 47 fourth- through eighth-graders from the five northern counties of Idaho will participate in the 14th annual North Idaho Regional Spelling Bee Saturday, March 18, at North Idaho College. The winner will receive an all expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C. to participate in the Scripps National Spelling Bee the end of May.

Each contestant was the winner of his or her respective grade level in district qualifying bees held in public school districts as well as a home school and private school district throughout North Idaho.

“A total of 47 schools are involved in this year’s spelling bee from 10 districts across North Idaho, including home school associations and private schools,” said North Idaho Regional Spelling Bee Coordinator Mindy Patterson. “Congratulations to those who qualified for the regional bee this year—it’s an amazing accomplishment.”

The spellers will compete against each other, regardless of grade level, beginning at 9 a.m. in Boswell Hall Schuler Performing Arts Center on NIC’s main campus. Registration for participants will begin at 8:30 a.m.

The event is sponsored by Hagadone Newspapers and hosted by NIC.

Information: (208) 769-3316.

Boundary County School District #101 participants:

Rylie Kimball, Fourth Grade, Valley View Elementary School

Ana Chase, Fifth Grade, Mt. Hall Elementary School

Tyler Stockdale, Sixth Grade, Boundary County Middle School

Camille Ussher, Seventh Grade, Boundary County Middle School

Regina Claphan, Eighth Grade, Boundary County Middle School


Charter School District participants:

Sienna Wilke Hepworth, Sixth Grade, Coeur d’Alene Charter Academy

Andrew Mangini, Seventh Grade, Coeur d’Alene Charter Academy

Maria Aguiar, Eighth Grade, Coeur d’Alene Charter Academy


Coeur d’Alene School District #271 participants:

Isaac Hines, Fourth Grade, Skyway Elementary School

Sebastian Baker, Fifth Grade, Dalton Elementary School

Riley Peite, Sixth Grade, Woodland Middle School

Elisabeth Edmonds, Seventh Grade, Lakes Magnet Middle School

Hayden Levy, Eighth Grade, Canfield Middle School


Home School District participants:

Faith Osborn, Fourth Grade, NIHEA Home Schooler

Joseph Moran, Fifth Grade, NIHEA Home Schooler

Abby McEwan, Sixth Grade, INCH Home Schooler

Chase Tedder, Seventh Grade, NIHEA Home Schooler

Joshua Bobbitt, Eighth Grade, INCH Home Schooler


Kellogg School District #391 participants:

Allie Krug, Fourth Grade, Pinehurst Elementary School

Zoe Brooks, Fifth Grade, Pinehurst Elementary School

Serenity Delgado, Sixth Grade, Kellogg Middle School

Marcus Pugh, Seventh Grade, Kellogg Middle School

Jaxon Card, Eighth Grade, Kellogg Middle School


Kootenai School District #274 participants:

Travis Usdrowski, Fourth Grade, Harrison Elementary School

Liam Gentry, Fifth Grade, Harrison Elementary School

Alaina Hebert, Sixth Grade, Kootenai Jr./Sr. High School

Matthew Rodgers, Seventh Grade, Kootenai Jr./Sr. High School

Devin Goodson, Eighth Grade, Kootenai Jr./Sr. High School

Lake Pend Oreille School District #84 participants:

Fisher Dail, Fourth Grade, Farmin Stidwell Elementary School

Aurora Miller, Fifth Grade, Northside Elementary School

Kirby Abad, Sixth Grade, Northside Elementary School

Ky Blaser, Seventh Grade, Sandpoint Middle School

Jaycee Forell, Eighth Grade, Sandpoint Middle School


Lakeland School District #272 participants:

Stryker Vestal, Fourth Grade, John Brown Elementary School

Trevor Davis, Fifth Grade, Garwood Elementary School

JJ Vrooman, Sixth Grade, Betty Kiefer Elementary School

Fifer Bernhardt, Seventh Grade, Timberlake Junior High School

Calvin Schenkenberger, Eighth Grade, Lakeland Junior High School


Private School District participants:

Evelyn Sutton, Fourth Grade, LAM Christian Academy

Grace Priest, Fifth Grade, North Idaho Christian School

Connor Erickson, Sixth Grade, House of the Lord Christian Academy

Kylen Claridge, Seventh Grade, North Idaho Christian School

Andrea Harris, Eighth Grade, House of the Lord Christian Academy


Wallace School District #393 participants:

Gabe Anderson, Fourth Grade, Silver Hills Elementary School

Brad Stutzke, Fifth Grade, Silver Hills Elementary School

Payton Stuart, Sixth Grade, Silver Hills Elementary School

Anthony Helseth, Seventh Grade, Wallace Jr./Sr. High School

Posted: Friday, Feb. 24, 2017

Email ArticleEmail


Go To Our Facebook Page Go To Our Cecil Cardinal Facebook Page Go To Our Twitter Page Go To Our Instagram Page Go To Our You Tube Videos Page Go To Our Flickr Photos Page

NIC Communications Contacts

Please direct all media inquiries to:

Tom Greene
Communications Coordinator
(208) 665-2759 or
Public Information Request Form

Laura Rumpler
Chief Communications and
Government Relations Officer
(208) 769-3316 or

News Search