Participants announced for the 2018 North Idaho Regional Spelling Bee

A total of 42 fourth- through eighth-graders from the five northern counties of Idaho will participate in the 15th annual North Idaho Regional Spelling Bee Saturday, March 17, at North Idaho College.  The winner will receive an all expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C. to participate in the Scripps National Spelling Bee the end of May.

Each contestant was the winner of his or her respective grade level in district qualifying bees held in public school districts as well as a home school and private school districts throughout North Idaho.

“A total of 40 schools are involved in this year’s spelling bee from nine districts across North Idaho, including home school associations and private schools,” said North Idaho Regional Spelling Bee Coordinator Mindy Patterson. “Congratulations to those who qualified for the regional bee this year—it’s an amazing accomplishment.”

The spellers will compete against each other, regardless of grade level, beginning at 9 a.m. in Boswell Hall Schuler Performing Arts Center on NIC’s main campus. Registration for participants will begin at 8:30 a.m.

The event is sponsored by Hagadone Newspapers and hosted by NIC.

Information: (208) 769-3316.

Participants include:

Boundary County School District #101 participants:

Ocean Blue, Fourth Grade, Valley View Elementary

Elizabeth McCoy, Fifth Grade, Mount Hall Elementary School

Ana Chase, Sixth Grade, Boundary County Middle School

Morgan Moon, Seventh Grade, Boundary County Middle School

Camille Ussher, Eighth Grade, Boundary County Middle School


Charter School District participants:

Emma Fisch, Sixth Grade, Coeur d’Alene Charter Academy

Thomas Smith, Seventh Grade, Coeur d’Alene Charter Academy

Andrew Mangini, Eighth Grade, Coeur d’Alene Charter Academy


Coeur d’Alene School District #271 participants:

Caren Silva, Fourth Grade, Dalton Elementary School

Ashlyn Craigie, Fifth Grade, Ramsey Elementary School

Carter Lingenfelter, Sixth Grade, Woodland Middle School

Riley Peite, Seventh Grade, Woodland Middle School

Elisabeth Edmonds, Eighth Grade, Lakes Magnet Middle School


Home School District participants:

Adam Moran, Fourth Grade, NIHEA Home Schooler

Caleb Welbaum, Fifth Grade, NIHEA Home Schooler

Joseph Moran, Sixth Grade, NIHEA Home Schooler

Abby McEwan, Seventh Grade, INCH Home Schooler

Samuel Brannan, Eighth Grade, NIHEA Home Schooler


Kellogg School District #391 participants:

Preston Graaskamp, Fourth Grade, Pinehurst Elementary School

Leevy Bush, Fifth Grade, Pinehurst Elementary School

Serenity Delgado, Seventh Grade, Kellogg Middle School

Marcus Parkins-Pugh, Eighth Grade, Kellogg Middle School


Kootenai School District #274 participants:

Danielle Darrar, Fourth Grade, Harrison Elementary School

Travis Usdrowski, Fifth Grade, Harrison Elementary School

Liam Gentry, Sixth Grade, Kootenai Jr./Sr. High School

Tuesday Glessner, Seventh Grade, Kootenai Jr./Sr. High School

Matthew Rogers, Eighth Grade, Kootenai Jr./Sr. High School


Lake Pend Oreille School District #84 participants:

Jack Baker, Fourth Grade, Kootenai Elementary School

Zachary Storaasli, Fifth Grade, Hope Elementary School

Nick Gaulrapp, Sixth Grade, Farmin-Stidwell Elementary School

Urielle Abad, Seventh Grade, Sandpoint Middle School

Syndie Miller, Eighth Grade, Sandpoint Middle School


Private School District participants:

Alyx Mathews, Fourth Grade, North Idaho Christian School

Aiden Antal, Fifth Grade, Christian Center School

Grace Priest, Sixth Grade, North Idaho Christian School

Ethan Antal, Seventh Grade, Christian Center School

Alyson Ward, Eighth Grade, North Idaho Christian School


Wallace School District #393 participants:

Aubrey Birdsell, Fourth Grade, Silver Hills Elementary School

Madalee Phillips, Fifth Grade, Silver Hills Elementary School

Bradley Stutzke, Sixth Grade, Silver Hills Elementary School

Layla Burmeister, Seventh Grade,Wallace Jr./Sr. High School

Mason Chaffee, Eighth Grade,Wallace Jr./Sr. High School

Posted: Thursday, March 8, 2018

Email ArticleEmail


Go To Our Facebook Page Go To Our Cecil Cardinal Facebook Page Go To Our Twitter Page Go To Our Instagram Page Go To Our You Tube Videos Page Go To Our Flickr Photos Page

NIC Communications Contacts

Please direct all media inquiries to:

Tom Greene
Communications Coordinator
(208) 665-2759 or
Public Information Request Form

Laura Rumpler
Chief Communications and
Government Relations Officer
(208) 769-3316 or

News Search