Number of scholars enrolled this year at NIC up from last year

Recruiting student leaders and scholars from area high schools is a win-win situation for North Idaho College. Student scholars benefit by receiving academic scholarships to help them financially at NIC and the college benefits by investing in students who have already shown a commitment to education. “We specifically target these students in our enrollment campaign because they are students who have a long track record of success,” said NIC Vice President of Student Services Bruce Gifford. “They have a strong work ethic and will be great role models for other students. The entire campus benefits from their being a part of our student body.” NIC offers scholarships, often full tuition waivers, to all graduating valedictorians and salutatorians graduating from any Idaho public school. High school student body presidents as well as the top scholars at the region's alternative schools and in the NIC Adult Basic Education GED program receive the same waiver. A total of 22 student government leaders, valedictorians, salutatorians and top scholars are enrolled at NIC this fall, up from 18 last year. “These are the best and brightest high school students in our region and they have selected NIC first choice for colleges,” said NIC President Michael Burke. 2004-2005 scholars at NIC Valedictorians: Katie Barber, Lake City High School; Jessica Becker, Clark Fork Jr./Sr. High School; Keith Chambers, Mullan Jr./Sr. High School; Chelsea Cochran, Salmon River High School; Laina Helmich, Salmon River High School; Veronica Hendricks, Kootenai High School; Stephanie James, Coeur d'Alene High School; Rachel Mewaldt, Coeur d'Alene High School; Robert Prochaska, Timberlake Jr./Sr. High School; Chanda Smith, Lakeside High School Salutatorians: Eli Bourgard, Kellogg High School; Brian Burke, Lake City High School; Mandolyn Duclos, Timberlake Jr./Sr. High School; Attila Folnagy, Kootenai High School; Kathleen Palmiter, Kootenai High School; LaRae Rostkoski, Lakeland High School Top scholars: Chelsea Lewis, Project CDA; Aaron Snider, GED; Sarah Warner, New Vision High School Student government leaders: Kacy Ross, Lakeside High School; Jana Scott, Clark Fork Jr./Sr. High School; Kristin Yount, Priest River Lamanna High School

For More Information
Vice President of Student Services Bruce Gifford, (208) 769-3369

Posted: Friday, Aug. 27, 2004

Email ArticleEmail


Go To Our Facebook Page Go To Our Twitter Page Go To Our Instagram Page Go To Our You Tube Videos Page Go To Our Flickr Photos Page

NIC Communications Contacts

Please direct all media inquiries to:

Tom Greene
Communications Coordinator
(208) 665-2759 or

Stacy Hudson
Communications and Marketing Director
(208) 769-7819 or

Please direct all public information requests to:

Mindy Patterson
Community Relations Executive Assistant
(208) 769-3316
Public Information Request Form [PDF]

News Search