Participants announced for the 2006 North Idaho Regional Spelling Bee

A total of 52 fourth- through eighth-graders from the five northern counties of Idaho will participate in the third annual North Idaho Regional Spelling Bee Saturday, March 18, the winner of which will receive an all expense paid trip to Washington, D.C. to participate in the 79th Annual Scripps National Spelling Bee May 31 through June 1.
Each contestant was the winner of his or her respective grade level in district qualifying bees held at 13 districts, which included various school districts as well as a home school and private school district, throughout North Idaho. The spellers will compete against each other, regardless of grade level, beginning at 10 a.m. in Boswell Hall Schuler Auditorium on North Idaho College’s main campus. Registration for participants begins at 9 a.m.
The event is sponsored by Hagadone Newspapers and hosted by NIC.
Information: (208) 769-7819.
2006 North Idaho Regional Spelling Bee participants are as follows:
Fourth grade participants:
Abbey Huggler, fourth grade, Idaho Hill Elementary
Lindsay Barrett, fourth grade, Betty Kiefer Elementary
Liz Short, fourth grade, Heyburn Elementary
Lizzy Branson, fourth grade, Farmin-Stidwell Elementary
Justin McCabe, fourth grade, Ponderosa Elementary
Riley Toews, fourth grade, Sunnyside Elementary
Jailee Foster, fourth grade, Valley View Elementary
Allix Anderson, fourth grade, Harrison Elementary
Claire Wardian, fourth grade, Fernan Elementary
Will Kennedy, fourth grade, Holy Family Catholic School
LeeAnne Bixler, fourth grade, Coeur d’Alene
Fifth grade participants:
Scott French, fifth grade, Priest River Elementary
Timothy Young, fifth grade, Spirit Lake Elementary
Cassidy Walters, fifth grade, Heyburn Elementary
Katie Miller, fifth grade, Southside Elementary
Calvin “CJ” Miller, fifth grade, Mullan Trail Elementary
Katelynn Wuolle, fifth grade, Canyon Elementary
Jessica Hart, fifth grade, Valley View Elementary
Haily Simonsen, fifth grade, Harrison Elementary
Shaynie Oksness, fifth grade, Atlas Elementary
Capria Rinaldi, fifth grade, Post Falls Christian Academy
Autumn Weppner, fifth grade, Coeur d’Alene
Sixth grade participants:
 Calista Gresick, sixth grade, Priest River Elementary
Jessica Brown, sixth grade, Spirit Lake Elementary
Jackson Olin, sixth grade, Farmin-Stidwell Elementary
Emily Irvin, sixth grade, River City Middle School
Tyler Stout, sixth grade, Kellogg Middle School
Nicole Bennett, sixth grade, Boundary County Middle School
Brandon Carman, sixth grade, Harrison Elementary
Abigail Anderson, sixth grade, Coeur d’Alene Charter Academy
Preston Goodall, sixth grade, Post Falls Christian Academy
Rachel Pinkerton, sixth grade, Coeur d’Alene
Seventh grade participants:
Christian Handy, seventh grade, Priest River Jr. High
Tammy Watson, seventh grade, Timberlake Jr./Sr. High
Finan Adamson, seventh grade, Sandpoint Middle School
Alex Carey, seventh grade, Post Falls Middle School
Corinne Estabrooks, seventh grade, Kellogg Middle School
Markayle Acord, seventh grade, Boundary County Middle School
Cody Whipple, seventh grade, Kootenai Jr./Sr. High
Emily Vester, seventh grade, Wallace Jr./Sr. High
Jessica Brock, seventh grade, Canfield Middle School
Jennifer Kiesewetter, seventh grade, Holy Family Catholic School
James Barbieri, seventh grade, Dalton Gardens
Eighth grade participants:
Anna Reed, eighth grade, Priest River Jr. High
Megan Hom, eighth grade, Timberlake Jr./Sr. High
Tommy Jacobs, eighth grade, Sandpoint Middle School
Mona Ali, eighth grade, River City Middle School
Shayne Hamilton, eighth grade, Boundary County Middle School
Courtney Rohrs, eighth grade, Kootenai Jr./Sr. High
Jordan O’Masters, eighth grade, Canfield Middle School
Brendan Foster, eighth grade, Lighthouse Christian Academy
Kyrstin Vens, eighth grade, Spirit Lake

For More Information
North Idaho Regional Spelling Bee Coordinator Stacy Hudson, (208) 769-7819

Posted: Tuesday, Feb. 28, 2006

Email ArticleEmail


Go To Our Facebook Page Go To Our Twitter Page Go To Our Instagram Page Go To Our You Tube Videos Page Go To Our Flickr Photos Page

NIC Communications Contacts

Please direct all media inquiries to:

Tom Greene
Communications Coordinator
(208) 665-2759 or

Stacy Hudson
Communications and Marketing Director
(208) 769-7819 or

Please direct all public information requests to:

Mindy Patterson
Community Relations Executive Assistant
(208) 769-3316
Public Information Request Form [PDF]

News Search