Where do I find the Student Accounts Office/Cashier's Window?
Services are located on first floor of the Lee-Kildow Hall (114). Office hours are Monday - Thursday from 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and Fridays from 7:30 – 2:30 p.m. The office is open during the lunch hour.
Browse by: General Billing Questions, Financial Aid & Billing, Drops, Withdrawals, Refunds, Making Payments and Grade or Registration Problems.
How much will it cost me to attend NIC?
Students who are considering attending NIC or current students who haven't registered yet may get an estimated cost for the upcoming semester using our new Tuition & Fee Tables.
When will I receive a bill (Statement of Account)?
Your bill (Statement of Account) is always available through your MyNIC account. Paper bills will not be mailed. Your Statement of Account will give you the most up to date account balance. You may print a copy of your bill through your MyNIC account by clicking on Statement of Account.
If I do not access my MyNIC Statement of Account, will my class schedule be cancelled?
Students are responsible to pay their tuition on time whether they access their MyNIC or not. If you do not pay your tuition before the payment date and your tuition is for an amount of more than one credit , your registration will be cancelled. If you do not withdraw before the 100% refund deadline, you are liable for all charges whether you attended the class or not.
What if there is an error on my account?
First check to see that you are enrolled in the correct courses. If not make the necessary drops or adds. If you have a problem dropping or adding, call the Registrar's Office at (208) 769-3320. If you are registered for the correct courses, email the Student Accounts Office and we will respond as soon as possible.
Can my parents call and get my information?
Under the Student Privacy Act (FERPA), the Student Accounts Office may not give any type of financial information to your parents without your written consent, regardless of who pays tuition. It is up to you, the student, to give them the ability to check your account on the WEB.
Top of page.
If you meet the criteria below, you are eligible for a $450 scholarship per year ($225 per semester), you must meet all the following:
- Be an Idaho resident, under 22 years old prior to July 1 of the year of the award (and)
- Be enrolled full-time in college for the first time this fall (and)
- Graduated from an Idaho high school with a 3.0+ GPA, 20 ACT, 950 SAT, or 195 COMPASS (or) GED or home-schooled in Idaho with 20 ACT, 950 SAT, or 195 COMPASS
You must be enrolled in a minimum of 12 credits for the funds to disburse. You must have completed 12 credits per semester and have at least a 2.0 GPA to continue to receive funds. The funds will disburse at $225 per semester. Therefore, if your tuition and fees is more than the $225 per semester, you must pay the difference by the payment due dates. If you do not pay your portion by the due dates, your class schedule may be canceled. If you no longer have eligibility for the scholarship, you must pay your tuition and fees on time to avoid de-registration. Contact the Financial Aid Office at (208) 769-3368 to make sure they list you as approved to receive Idaho Promise Category B Scholarship.
How do I apply for financial aid?
You must apply for financial aid online at www.fafsa.ed.gov. For question regarding financial aid please call (208) 769-3368.
I just applied for financial aid and tuition is now due. I want a deferment.
If you have just applied, but have not yet been awarded, you may still take advantage of our payment plan. We do not grant deferments for pending financial aid. Your tuition must be paid on time regardless of financial aid status. To help families eliminate the debt of borrowing loans for college, NIC does offer a 4 or 3 month payment plan. To apply, please refer to the payment plan link.
What if I am waiting for grants and/or loans but have no money now?
Your tuition must be paid on time regardless of financial aid status.
What should I do if my financial aid is less than my bill?
Pay the difference on time.
Can my financial aid be used as the down payment for the payment plan?
No. The payment plan is for those students who are not receiving any kind of financial aid to pay their tuition or students that have applied late for financial aid.
Top of page.
I never attended class, will I be dropped automatically?
It is the responsibility of the student to officially drop any class(es) he or she is not attending. You may drop or withdraw from any course(s) through MyNIC .
If I drop a course, will I get a refund?
Dropping Individual Courses
You may receive a 100% refund if courses are dropped by Friday of the second week after the term starts (Fall and Spring semesters). No refund will be issued for individual courses that are dropped after the second Friday once the term starts . Late start classes need to be dropped five days after the class starts for a refund. You must fill out a refund form to receive a refund.
You may receive a 100% refund of resident and nonresident fees for total withdrawal of all courses by the second Friday after the term starts . All official withdrawals must be made through your MyNIC.
If You Received Financial Aid...
If you drop courses during the refund period, you will receive a refund if you did NOT receive financial aid. Refunds are applied first to any financial aid source the student received. After the financial aid portion is adjusted a refund check will be issued if there is a credit balance remaining.
How do I make a total withdrawal from NIC?
Official withdrawal must be made through your MyNIC. A stop payment placed on a check or credit card does not constitute withdrawal from the College and the student will be responsible for fees resulting from the stop payment.
When are refund (non-financial aid) checks mailed? Can I come in and pick mine up?
Refunds are disbursed through HigherOne the third Tuesday of the Semester. Refunds are disbursed every Friday throughout the semester.
My work schedule changed and I want to drop the class. What do I do?
You must follow the procedures for dropping a class on the WEB. Refunds are only granted during the refund periods. If you are dropping the class after the refund period, you will not receive a refund. The College is sympathetic to any student who has to drop a class(es), but the refund periods are strictly followed.
I am unhappy with the class I am taking (for whatever reason) and I want a refund.
You must follow the procedures for dropping a class on the WEB. Refunds are only granted during the refund periods. If you are dropping the class after the refund period, you will not receive a refund. You must speak to the Division Chair of the respective department with complaints relating to class content, instruction, etc.
I dropped out of school and had a zero balance. Why do I owe money now?
If you received financial aid, you are required by federal law to return any funds you did not earn because you didn't attend the whole semester. Contact the Financial Aid office and they can tell you the reason you owe money. If you didn't receive financial aid, email the Student Accounts Office and we will let you know why you owe.
Under what circumstances are refunds granted if I file a Hardship Refund form with the Business Office?
Refunds are granted when circumstances beyond the control of the student prevents the student from attending all courses. Examples include medical reasons, induction into the U.S. Armed Forces, death of spouse, child, parent or legal guardian.
Top of page.
How much do I pay? How do I pay? When do I pay?
For detailed answers to these questions please visit our how to pay page.
My registration window isn't for another two weeks but I want to know how much I will owe for next semester now.
You may get an estimated cost for the upcoming semester using our new Tuition & Fee Tables. Students who have already registered may receive an up-to-date balance due on their MyNIC account at any time.
Can I pay for tuition with a credit card even though I don't have my child's username and password for NICOnlie?
Username and Password must be used when accessing the MyNIC systems for payment. However, you can use your credit card to make a payment by coming to the Cashier's Office, which does not require a student's pin number or by downloading and completing the Payment by Fax form.
What if I don't pay on time?
The College reserves the right to de-register any student who has not paid his or her tuition in full by the payment deadline. The College also reserves the right to charge additional re-registration fees for accounts not paid in full by due dates.
What if I don't pay?
You must pay your tuition during registration to avoid being de-registered for non- or unacceptable payment and/or additional penalties.
I paid by credit or debit card. Why does it still say I owe money?
Your card may have been declined by your bank or your credit card company. Generally it is because the amount you were charging was above your bank's daily debit limit. Speak with your bank. If that's the reason it declined, you can go back onto the WEB and pay using the correct limits. If you are an international student and there is no problem with your limit, please bring your card into the Cashier's Office. Generally these cards will not be approved by the bank unless we have the card in our physical possession at the time of the request.
Why did you cancel my classes if my check bounced?
If your check was returned from the bank unpaid, your tuition was not paid on time. Please be aware it is illegal to write a check on non sufficient funds (NSF). These return checks are treated seriously by the Student Accounts Office. If anyone wrote a check on non sufficient funds for your student account, Student Accounts will not accept a check for any future payments.
I have some special circumstances. Who do I speak to?
If for some reason you are not able to pay your tuition, you may come by the Student Accounts Office to discuss your options. This must be done before tuition payments are due. A personal appointment must be made. As most financial information is confidential, your options and circumstances will not be discussed over the phone. All information submitted is completely confidential.
Top of page.
The instructor does not show me in his class.
You must contact the Registrar's Office immediately at (208) 769-3320. It is imperative that you speak to them immediately.
I dropped the class but received an F.
You must immediately contact the Registrar's Office. You may have to appeal to Academic Standards to have the F removed from your record. At a minimum, you will need a letter from the instructor on Colleges letterhead that you never attended the course.
I can't register and it says to contact the Business Office.
Registrations are held if a student owes the College money. Email the Student Accounts Office with your student ID number stating you have a hold. We will tell you exactly why you are on hold and what department to contact to have the hold cleared.
I didn't get my grades. The Registrar's Office says they are on hold.
Grades are held if a student owes the College money. Email the Student Accounts Office with your student ID number stating you have a hold. We will tell you exactly why you are on hold and what department to contact to have the hold cleared.
Top of page.